CSA Travel Protection

Reviewers
Male / Female
Recommend
Yes / No
Number of Reviews Coverage Claims Customer Service Cost Total Average Rating
14 / 8 4 / 18 22 2.68 2.32 2.64 3.19 2.71

Date Submitted: April 23, 2013
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 5 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 4 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: CSA IS A TOTAL RIP-OFF
I PAID FOR COVERAGE FOR MY BOYFIEND AND MYSELF IT WAS A SURPISE CRUISE FOR HIM. IN THE MEANTIME I GOT ANOTHER JOB AND HE GOT EXTENDED ON HIS OVERSEAS JOB. I SUBMITTED CLAIM AND DOCUMENTATION BACK IN OCTOBER 2012 TO THIS DATE APRIL 2013 I HAVE YET TO HEAR FROM THEM. I SUBMITTED DOCUMENTATION TWICE. ALL MONIES WERE DEDUCTED FROM MY DEBIT CARD ALSO SENT PROOF STILL NO RESPONSE
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: GEEGEE
56 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   VA

Date Submitted: December 11, 2012
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 10 out of 10
Claims: 10 out of 10
Customer Service: 10 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: "Hurricane Sandy"
On October 29th the east coast was hit by Superstorm Sandy, My wife and I were scheduled to fly out of Logan airport on Tuesday the 30th to the USVI unfortunately downed trees, power outages and cancelled air flights put an end to our trip. This was the first time I ever had to file a claim using my trip insurance. I have purchased trip insurance on EVERY trip I have planned for piece of mind. I can say after being a little apprehensive about filing a claim and expecting "red tape" resistance I was pleasantly surprised on how well I was treated by CSA Travel Insurance. In a time where I am sure I was one of hundreds if not thousands of claims I recieved my claim within 30 days of the incident. I will NEVER plan a trip without having CSA Travel Protection as part of my package.


Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: John
54 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Barrington NH

Date Submitted: May 13, 2012
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: trip cancelled due to death
We were informed after 2 days on a cruise that my mother had passed away. It cost me $1300 to fly one way from Belize to Chicago. We lost five days from the cruise besides the prepaid tips and return to airport. I applied for $2400 in compensation, and received $1,00 or $200 a day. Yes, it was in the policy, but was not clear. I would not recommend buying this policy.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: David Strasemeier
70 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Dixon,Il

Date Submitted: November 9, 2011
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: CSA does not pay
It took them a month to reject my claim.
I was told to read the fine print defining when a hurricane is announced as compared to my insurance purchase date. The letter instructs me to take the matter up with New York state insurance which I will now do. Avoid these thieves.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: EJ
55 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   New York City

Date Submitted: April 29, 2011
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: school ski trip
several of the boys had property stolen whilst on the trip from there hotel rooms , police involved all forms filled in etc reports , this rip off company will not pay claims , legal action now instructed , 100% cowboys avaid at all costs.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: craig
49 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   england

Date Submitted: January 6, 2011
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 5 out of 10
Claims: 5 out of 10
Customer Service: 5 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Review of CSA's comments
CSA - You really need to think about the comments you are leaving on this site for the reviews.

Your constant use of a "form letter" response is not helping your image and may be hurting your company's good will.

The same comment on every review leads me to believe that this is a company that does not care too much. Sure you apologize in the comment, but there is no effort put forth to try and mend these relationships or sympathize or give the notion that you really care.

You say in your comment that you pay thousands of claims each year. But think about this: What is the pervasive tone of the reviews left? They are negative. Do you realize that you are getting 90% negative reviews? People read these and make decisions based on these.

Bottom line is that I have decided not to use your company for a trip I am taking this summer to Destin, FL based on what I have seen here and other sites. You really need to consider this in the future.

Do not bother contacting me. The email address associated with this review is from 10minutemail.com. I don't give out my real email address on any of these sites.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: John
41 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Oakville, MO

Date Submitted: December 27, 2010
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 5 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 2 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Claim denied
DO NOT BUY THEIR INSURANCE!! They are connected to Airtran. They do not disclose their "Terms & Conditions" before you purchase. Bought their insurance, got the flu, had to cancel at last minute. Denied my claim because I didn`t see a Dr.
Highly recommend staying away from this insurance company!!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Daryl
39 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Rochester

Date Submitted: January 12, 2010
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 8 out of 10
Claims: 9 out of 10
Customer Service: 9 out of 10
Cost: 6 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Excellent claim service
My wife and I were scheduled to fly from Miami to Madrid and connect to Istanbul for a cruise. Our flight from Miami was cancelled at the last minute due to technical problems. The airline rescheduled us on a different carrier early the following day. Since the ship remained in Istanbul overnight we were able to reach it just before it sailed. When we returned to the U.S. we filed a claim with CSA for the portion of the cruise fare representing our lost day. CSA honored the claim and paid us within one week.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Steve
73 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Boca Raton, FL

Date Submitted: October 13, 2009
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 3 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Avoid this company
Bought insurance for an expensive trip to Russia/UK. Missed our connecting flight that resulted in a 24 hour delay if we had not purchased an alternate flight on our own. As the original flight was only delay 1 hour CSA denied the claim.

They are not to be trusted. Don't buy anything from this company it will be a waste of money if you ever have to claim anything.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: at
44 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Pleasanton

Date Submitted: February 18, 2009
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Liars and Frauds
The agents are rude. CANNOT COLLECT A LEGITIMATE CLAIM. They should be put out of business. DO NOT DO NOT purchase this insurance.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Brenda
60 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Roane

Date Submitted: February 3, 2009
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Denied Claim for re-scheduling flight
Do not use this company! Before I purchased the insurance for our cruise, I spoke with customer service and was told I was purchasing a policy that would take good care of us. When our cruise was delayed in Cabo San Lucas, the captain notified the passengers to re-schedule flights. I tried to contact CSA through their free international phone number. That number was wrong, and the message said to try another number. When I tried that number, I was told it was a non working number. Finally, once we reached LAX, I contacted CSA. I was told to submit a claim when we returned home. CSA paid for the hotel and food which they say fell under Trip Interruption, but denied the additional charges we made ($300) to change flights for the next day. They said those fees fell under Trip Delay, and we needed to have been delayed for 24 hrs. This was an important lesson for us, we had always thought we were under good coverage while out of the country. I do not recommend this company because there was no support and too many hidden rules in policy to cheat you out of your claim.
Comments [ 2 ]
Submitted by: Mary
36 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Fort Wayne

Date Submitted: January 24, 2009
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 2 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Screwed out of $5,000.00
Wife and I had a cruise lined up for Sept 08. In July 08 we bought travel insurace on the recomendation of our travel agent from CSA. Four days before leaving a specialist advised my wife not to go and booked her for tests and possiable surgry. Feeling that we were insured we canceled per doctors advice. We notified CSA the same day and we were assured that forms would be sent, claim would be paid etc. In December 08 after a lot of screwing around we were advised that because my wife had seen her doctor in March 08 she had a 'pre-existing condition' and therefore our claim was rejected. My wife has never had any diagnosis or treatment and only missed time off work due to the tests. We bought this insurance in absolute good faith and now we feel that we were 'screwed' by CSA.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: M & S
59 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Sudbury

Date Submitted: January 4, 2009
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: CSA travel Protection (?)
Our rental agent in Pensacola told us to buy this in case of death in family, work obligations, etc. We were delayed by two back to back hurricanes, kept in contact with the agent and finally canceled. Filed claim with weather reports, etc. and it was promptly denied. We're out over $800;even had to pay the cleaning fee for a condo we never saw!! WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN.
Comments [ 2 ]
Submitted by: Theresa
57 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Lafayette, LA

Date Submitted: November 28, 2008
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: don't get them
I had my honeymoon in june well airfare went bad due to weather in florida so we were 6 hours late missed our cruise.
did not cover trip delay i had to fight with these people for week got no where do not purchase. I thought that was what insurance was for delay that are not your fault ...........lost 4 day of my honeymoon..
Comments [ 2 ]
Submitted by: lee
29 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   warwick

Date Submitted: November 10, 2008
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: CSA calls Hurricane Ike - a foreseeable event?!
To make a long story short, my husband and I had to cancel a trip to the Carribean less than 24 hours before departure due to Hurrican Hanna and we had no travel insurance. We booked another trip to the Texas shore beginning the next day - dumb move - Hurricane Ike came thru shortening our vacation to 3 days. We purchased travel insurance from CSA - another dumb move. We were denied coverage because "the last day to purchase a policy providing losses related to Hurricane Ike was 8/31/08. At that time, this was a named-storm, and no longer an unforeseen event."

They took our money for the insurance even though we said why we were purchasing this. We lost the rental money on the condo, had to pay additional hotel expenses, drive to San Antonio, and Delta airlines charged us for change fee. What an expensive 3 day vacation!

Do you really think that someone would deliberately travel to an area where there is a foreseeable event?

Be careful -hurricanes are sometimes named weeks in advance. Since this is now a foreseeable event according to CSA, don't bother buying any insurance. Very disappointed in this company. My husband and I along with the companies we work for will no longer be using CSA.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: DP
50 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   USA

Date Submitted: October 3, 2008
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 3 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: CSA is a Rip-off do not use them!
I purchased travel insurance for peace of mind, if something should go wrong with my trip. Well something did go wrong and I had my pocket picked in St. Petersburg Russia on my first day of arrival. It had my ID and credit cards and a lot of cash.
Suddenly I was with very little money only enough to last a day or two. I had to go thorough extreme red tape to get money from my credit card company, and I spent days dealing with multiple police reports, so I could make an insurance claim.
I also contacted CSA through email telling them I was in despite trouble and needed emergency cash immediately… They never helped me!
After about four days of this and not getting my credit card in time. I realized if I did not return home immediately I would become destitute without money in a country I couldn’t even speak the language.
With great sadness I had to cancel my trip.
When I returned home I spent hours gathering up information and composing a detailed report of my situation and experience along with a police report of my losses. After two weeks I heard back from them telling me they are giving me essentially nothing! They are cold-blooded people who do not care about your misfortune; they are only interested in getting your money. DO NOT USE THEM!

Comments [ 3 ]
Submitted by: E.S.
60 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   San Diego

Date Submitted: July 18, 2008
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: they have no hearts dont give them your money
we found out our family dog had cancer a few days before our trip so we sent in a claim with vet info and they said they wouldnt give us any of our money back even though our dog died a couple weeks later. who would feel like going on a vacation when there dog is dieing at home. they have no hearts at all.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: ricky
16 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   texas

Date Submitted: February 26, 2008
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 10 out of 10
Claims: 9 out of 10
Customer Service: 10 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Do Your Own Research
I came across this companies website from a recommendation of a Travel Agent. I wanted to add insurance to my Caribbean Cruise. I was told to shop around instead of purchasing directly from a Travel Agent because they may earn a commission as well. I went to several websites but found this one informative and easy to use. I purchased a policy directly online and received my contract within minutes. I will use this company in the future.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Gabriel
43 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Littleton

Date Submitted: February 9, 2008
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Beware CSA ripoff t oelderly in Florida
Wife got sick on Cruise out of Ft laurdale, CSA wanted all sort of personal information includinf SS#s and still after that denied claim, said file with your insurance carrier. Elderly in Florida who are conned into this 110. insurance DONT DO IT. Im waitning for ATTGeneral of FLA to look into this company
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Harv
79 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Ft Laurdale, Florida

Date Submitted: October 20, 2007
Travel Insurer: CSA Travel Protection
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Rip Off
I had never previously purchased a "travel protection" policy. This was insisted on by the 'free agent' who planned the tour. One buys insurance for the "unforeseen" so one cannaot evaluate a policies coverage until after an incident occurs. A claim was necessary - something that was clearly covered by the policy. The claim was denied - apparently because it did not meet the tortured, limited verbage contained. I will NEVER purchase another policy. I will spend the money on myself, since I had to pay for all items coverd by the policy myself, anyway. It was merely a "donation" to CSA.
Comments [ 4 ]
Submitted by: Nixie
60 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Florida